Past-President's Report

Sarah J. Gladwell

Nominating Committee

The nominations committee sought candidates to fill the following vacancies for 2012-13:

VP/President-Elect, VP Membership, VP Nova Scotia, VP Prince Edward Island and VP Newfoundland and Labrador. Two nominations were received for VP/President-Elect, necessitating a vote by the membership. 

Due to time constraints, issues with finding an easily used electronic means for voting anonymously and after consulting past APLA Presidents, the Executive offered members two options for casting their vote. A gmail account was created and members were invited to email their votes.  It was not possible for the votes to be completely anonymous as the voter’s status as an APLA member in good standing had to be verified. However, only the VP Membership (Ann Smith) and the Past-President (Sarah Gladwell) had access to the gmail account. Once the successful candidate is named, the account will be closed.

For those who preferred a more anonymous means of casting their vote, a process was created by President Jocelyne Thompson whereby the VP Membership could verify the voter was a member in good standing of APLA but the vote cast would not be associated with a name. Members were asked to place their vote in a blank envelope which was then placed in another envelope (complete with their name and return address) and mail it to the Past-President. The Past-President would then verify with the VP Membership that the person was a member in good standing, dispose of the outer envelope and count the ballot.

The new members of the executive are:

Louise White, VP/President-Elect; Suzanne van den Hoogen, VP Membership; Ann Barrett, VP Nova Scotia; Melissa Belvadi, VP Prince Edward Island; Krista Godfrey VP Newfoundland and Labrador.

On behalf of the nominations and elections committee, I would like to thank each nominee for agreeing to serve on the APLA Executive.

Grow a Library Committee – CODE

Committee members include: Lorraine Jackson, Jocelyne Thompson, Catherine Kelly, Robin Illsley, Jennifer Richard, Tanja Harrison and Bill Slauenwhite.

This year the committee adopted the Wondo Genet Reading Room in Ethiopia, South Nations & Nationalities Peoples.

New this year in fundraising is the “Join APLA…Help build libraries around the world” membership campaign which will hopefully conclude in a donation sometime in early summer. The conference committee also decided to continue with the tradition of giving a donation to CODE in lieu of speakers’ gifts for the third year. Letters of thanks from CODE are given to the speakers at the end of their session.

The committee is also putting together a collection of “treasures” from each of the Atlantic Provinces for a draw at the conference. The basket may be viewed and tickets purchased from committee members at the conference. An “APLA swag and Grow a Library” table will be set up near the registration table and staffed by volunteers. I am working with Pamela Maher on the schedule, set up and take down. People may also purchase stickers and magnets, made popular by Donald Moses, for a $5 donation.

It was suggested by an outgoing committee member that the Grow a Library committee consider supporting a Francophone library every 2 or 3 years (like the Abdoulaiye Maiga School and Community Library in Mali adopted in 2010-11) and supporting a library in an Inuit, Dene or First Nations community in Canada.