Presented at the Banquet during the Annual Conference, the APLA Merit Award honours an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to library services in the Atlantic Provinces.

Some of the contributions that might be considered in selecting a person for this award are; leadership in library associations at the local, regional and provincial levels; contributions to the development, application and utilization of library services and library systems; significant contribution to library literature.


March 31st of each year

Submission Process

Nominations, including documentation of the nominee’s achievements and letters of support, should be submitted by March 31, of each year to APLA’s Past President, past-president@apla.ca.

APLA Merit Award Winners

1975Jessie Mifflen
1975M.E. (Mollie) Cameron
1976James MacEacheron
1977Evelyn Campbell
1978Hubert Button
1979Norman Horrocks
1980Agnes O'Dea
1981Shirley Elliott
1982Norman Skinner
1982Eileen Travis
1983(not awarded)
1984(not awarded)
1985Gertrude Gunn
1986(not awarded)
1987Katherine Le Butt
1988Carin Somers
1989Henry Bramwell Chandler
1990Douglas Lochhead
1991Pearce Penny
1992Alfred Bailey
1993Iain Bates
1994(not awarded)
1995Barbara Kincaid
1995Diane MacQuarrie
1996Eric Swanick
1997Suzanne Sexty
1998Margot Ellen Schenk
1999Alban Arsenault
2000(not awarded)
2001Peter Glenister
2003Joy Tillotson
2004Claude Potvin
2005Michael Colborne
2006Madeleine Lefebvre
2007Richard Ellis
2008Gwyn Pace
2009Sylvie Nadeau
2010Peter Webster
2011Elaine MacLean
2012Jennifer Richard
2013Bill Slauenwhite
2014Jennifer Evans
2015John Teskey
2016Lou Duggan
2017Jocelyne Thompson
2018(not awarded)
2019Beth Maddigan
2020Louise White
2021Tanja Harrison
2022Joann Hamilton-Barry
2023Ann Smith